Class of 2001

Kelwin Harris MUP ’01 Selected as 2017-18 Marshall Memorial Fellow

Kelwin Harris MUP '01

Kelwin Harris MUP ’01 has been selected as a 2017-18 Marshall Memorial Fellow with the German Marshall Fund of The United States. The Marshall Memorial Fellowship (MMF) is The German Marshall Fund’s flagship leadership development program. Created in 1982 to introduce a new generation of European leaders to the United States, MMF grew in 1999 with a companion program that began sending emerging leaders from the United States to Europe. The German Marshall Fund makes MMF awards to the best and brightest from all sectors, including business, government, and civil society. Selected fellows engage in 6 months of preparation designed to enhance their understanding of transatlantic relations before embarking on 24 days of policy immersion across the Atlantic. Kelwin will be concentrating on the nexus between equity, inclusive growth and civic and community engagement.

Read the full announcement.

Image provided. 


posted July, 2017

Kelwin Harris GMF

Jenny Wu MArch ’01 Featured in the Los Angeles Times

Jenny Wu MArch '01, Dwayne Oyler MArch '01

Jenny Wu MArch ’01 and her line of 3-D-printed jewelry are the subject of an article in the Los Angeles Times. Wu was first exposed to 3-D printing as a student at the GSD. She later began to experiment with the technology to create wearable designs, starting her LA-based jewelry label, Lace, in 2014. Wu is also a partner at the the design firm Oyler Wu Collaborative, which she founded with her husband, Dwayne Oyler MArch ’01.

Photo by Al Seib/ Los Angeles Times; courtesy of the Los Angeles Times

posted May, 2017

Jenny Wu

Katherine Orff MLA ’97 Delivers Keynote at Nature 3.x: Where is Nature Now? Symposium

Katherine Orff MLA '97 and Matthew Tucker MLA '01

Katherine Orff MLA ’97, Founder and Partner at SCAPE, delivered the keynote address at the Nature 3.x: Where is Nature Now? symposium, which was convened by Professors Matthew Tucker MLA ’01 and Christine Baeumler at the University of Minnesota on April 17-18. The event focused upon the examination of the pressing ecological dilemmas associated with the Anthropocene epoch and offed speculative trajectories for future landscape architecture critical practice. Nearly 200 landscape architects, architects, artists and environmental activists attended the symposium. Other speakers included Professor Tucker as well as author Emma Marris, documentary filmmaker Andrew Blackwell, artist Buster Simpson and artist Koert vanMensvoort. The symposium also included a pre-symposium “Culvertized” workshop led by Tucker and Simpson, which focused upon the concept of bluespace and urban headwaters to retrofit urban stormwater infrastructure.

April 2015

posted December, 2016

Kelwin Harris MUP ’01 Named Senior Outreach Planner with the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP)

Kelwin Harris MUP '01

Kelwin Harris MUP ’01 has been named Senior Outreach Planner with the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP): the region’s official comprehensive planning organization. The agency and its partners are developing ON TO 2050, a new comprehensive regional plan to help the seven counties and 284 communities of northeastern Illinois implement strategies that address transportation, housing, economic development, open space, climate, local food, inclusive growth and other quality-of-life issues. Read more here.

March 2016

posted December, 2016

Nahyun Hwang MArch ’01 and David Eugin Moon MArch ’01 Deliver Lecture at Cornell

Nahyun Hwang MArch ’01 and David Eugin Moon MArch ’01

Nahyun Hwang MArch ’01 and David Eugin Moon MArch ’01, founders of N H D M, a collaborative practice for design and research in architecture and urbanism, are giving a lecture entitled “The Reprogrammable City” on Wednesday, February 26, 2014 as part of Cornell’s Department of Architecture Spring 2014 Lecture Series. The lecture takes place at the Abby and Howard Milstein Auditorium at Cornell University and begins at 5:15 pm.

February 2014

posted December, 2016

Nahyun Hwang MArch ’01 and David Eugin Moon’s MArch ’01 Firm Wins AIANY Design Award

Nahyun Hwang MArch ’01 David Eugin Moon MArch ’01

N H D M, the firm of Nahyun Hwang MArch ’01 and David Eugin Moon MArch ’01, won an Honor Award in the Project category in the 2014 AIANY Design Awards for (No) Stop Marconi, a project that reconceptualizes the spatial and political potentials in the reuse of vacant towers in the context of post-bubble Rotterdam. N H D M is a design and research office for architecture and urbanism based in New York.

April 2014

posted December, 2016