Class of 1989

Alumni Honored with AIANY 2018 Design Awards

Phil Freelon LF '90, Nader Tehrani MAUD ’91, Katherine Faulkner MArch ’93, Daniel Gallagher MArch ’91, Nahyun Hwang MArch ’01, David Eugin Moon MArch ’01, Rob Rogers MDes '89

Projects by a number of GSD alumni have been honored with 2018 Design Awards by AIA New York. The top prize went to the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture by Freelon Adjaye Bond / Smithgroup, led in part by Phil Freelon LF ’90. Award recipients will be featured in the Center for Architecture’s 2018 AIANY Design Awards exhibition (opens April 20, 2018), and included in AIANY’s Oculus magazine.

Alumni winners include:


NADAAA, firm of Nader Tehrani MAUD ’91 in collaboration with partners Katherine Faulkner MArch ’93 and Daniel Gallagher MArch ’91
Project: University of Toronto Daniels Building at One Spadina
Location: Toronto, Canada


N H D M, firm of Nahyun Hwang MArch ’01 and David Eugin Moon MArch ’01
Project: Nam June Paik Art Center Renovation
Location: Yongin, South Korea


NADAAA, firm of Nader Tehrani MAUD ’91 in collaboration with partners Katherine Faulkner MArch ’93 and Daniel Gallagher MArch ’91
Project: Justice in Design
Location: New York, NY

ROGERS PARTNERS Architects + Urban Designers, firm of Rob Rogers MDes ’89  
Project: Houston-Galveston Area Protection System (H-GAPS)
Location: Galveston Bay, TX

See all the winners.

Image: Nam June Paik Art Center. Courtesy of N H D M.

posted February, 2018


Alumni Honored with 2017-18 ACSA Architectural Education Awards

Renee Cheng AB '85, MArch '89, John Ronan MArch ‘91, Aziza Chaouni GSD '05, Jonathan Rule MArch '08, Jacob Wayne Mans MDes '16, Clare Robinson MArch '01

Six GSD alumni have been honored with 2017-2018  Architectural Education Awards for their outstanding work as architectural educators. They will be celebrated in March at the 106th ACSA Annual Meeting in Denver. In addition, GSD Professor Jorge Silvetti received the Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education this year.

ACSA/AIA Practice & Leadership Award

Renee Cheng AB ’85, MArch ’89, University of Minnesota, Professional Practice Class

Distinguished Professor

Renee Cheng AB ’85, MArch ’89, University of Minnesota
John Ronan MArch ‘91, Illinois Institute of Technology

ACSA Collaborative Practice Award

Aziza Chaouni GSD ’05, University of Toronto, “Let’s Talk”

ACSA Faculty Design Award

Jonathan Rule MArch ’08 with Ana Morcillo Pallares, University of Michigan, MUDEM

JAE Best Article Award Design as Scholarship

Jacob Wayne Mans MDes ’16, “Scaling for Non-Expert Production,” University of Minnesota

Clare Robinson MArch ’01, “Scholarship of Design Architecture in Support of Citizenry,” University of Arizona

posted February, 2018

Screen Shot 2018-02-14 at 4.16.56 PM

Antonio Fiol-Silva MAUD ’89 Project Named Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence Gold Medalist

Antonio Fiol-Silva MAUD '89

SteelStacks Arts and Cultural Campus — a $93.5 million transformation of an abandoned steel mill into a mixed-use art, cultural, and entertainment district with multiple projects led by Antonio Fiol-Silva MAUD ’89 as Principal-In-Charge and Planner — has been named the 2017 Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence Gold Medalist. Founded in 1986, the national award celebrates “transformative urban places distinguished by their economic and social contributions to America’s cities.”

Fiol-Silva is Founding Principal of SITIOa collaborative practice of architects, urban designers and planners based in Philadelphia. 

Read more about SteelStacks, Fiol-Silva, and the Rudy Bruner Award for Urban Excellence. 

Image courtesy of SITIO. 

posted June, 2017

Antonio Fiol-Silva

Dr. Branko Kolarevic MDes ’89, DDes ’93 Elected President of ACSA

Dr. Branko Kolarevic MDes ’89, DDes ’93

Earlier this year Dr. Branko Kolarevic MDes ’89, DDes ’93 was elected president of the Association of the Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA). This past July, he started his first year of the four-year term on the ACSA’s Board of Directors as Second Vice-President.

October 2016

posted December, 2016

Branko Kolarevic

Edwin Goodell MArch ’89, Craig Mutter MArch ’92, Jeffry Burchard MArch ’08 Named Partners at Machado and Silvetti

Jeffry Burchard MArch '08, Edwin Goodell MArch '89, and Craig Mutter MArch '92

Machado and Silvetti Associates, the architecture and urban design firm of Rodolfo Machado and Jorge Silvetti, Nelson Robinson Jr. Professor of Architecture at the GSD, is now known as Machado Silvetti. In addition, the practice has added four new partners, three of whom are GSD alums: Stephanie Randazzo Dwyer, Edwin Goodell MArch ’89, Craig Mutter MArch ’92, and Jeffry Burchard MArch ’08. After more than three decades of steady, successful practice, Machado Silvetti’s portfolio reflects the diverse scope, scale and breadth of the firm’s experiences. Securing and building on this legacy, the new office structure represents an evolution of the practice while reflecting the persistent quality and spirit of the work. Visit their new website at

June 2015

posted December, 2016