Class of 1981

Firm of Wendy Evans Joseph MArch ’81 Designs Cooper Hewitt Exhibition, “The Senses”

Wendy Evans Joseph MArch '81

Studio Joseph, the architecture practice founded and led by Wendy Evans Joseph MArch ’81, has designed the upcoming Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum exhibition “The Senses: Design Beyond Vision.” Set to open Friday, April 13, the show explores how multi-sensory design can open us up to new experiences and understandings while reaching a greater variety of users. It features over 65 design projects and more than 40 objects and installations to touch, hear, smell, and see. The show is designed to be accessible and welcoming to visitors of all abilities.

“The Senses” will be on view through October 28, 2018.

Learn more.

Images provided.

Wendy Evans Joseph_the senses 3


posted April, 2018

Wendy Evans Joseph_the senses 1

Alumni Work Recognized with 2017 ASLA Professional Awards

Andrea Cochran MLA '79, Megumi Aihara MLA '07, Mikyoung Kim MLA '92, Andrea Cochran MLA '79, Lin Peng MLA '12, Stephen Stimson MLA '87, Gary Hilderbrand MLA ’85, Douglas Reed MLA ’81, Bruce Jett MLA '92, Charlotte Barrows MLA '06, Leo Alvarez MLA '81, Ralph Johnson MArch '73, Gordon Gill MArch '93, Katharyn Leah Hurd MLAUD '12, Charles Birnbaum LF '98

The work of Harvard University Graduate School of Design alumni is well represented in this year’s American Society of Landscape Architects Professional Awards, which recognize the best of landscape architecture from the United States and around the world. Winners received their awards at the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Los Angeles last October. Those honored include:


Honor Awards

Andrea Cochran MLA ’79Megumi Aihara MLA ’07 (Windhover Contemplative Center)

Mikyoung Kim MLA ’92 (Chicago Botanic Garden: The Regenstein Learning Campus)


Award of Excellence

Andrea Cochran MLA ’79, Lin Peng MLA ’12 (Birmingham Residence)

Honor Award

Andrea Cochran MLA ’79 (Telegraph Hill Residence)

Stephen Stimson MLA ’87 (Northeast Harbor, a Restoration on Mount Desert Island)

Reed Hilderbrand LLC Landscape Architecture, led by by Principals Gary Hilderbrand MLA ’85 and Douglas Reed MLA ’81 (Proving Grounds – A 20-Year Education in American HorticultureAgrarian Modern – The Recovery and Renewal of Manatuck Farm)

Bruce Jett MLA ’92 (Northpoint Apartments)


Honor Award

Charlotte Barrows MLA ’06 (The Olana Strategic Landscape Design Plan: Restoring an American Masterpiece)

Leo Alvarez MLA ’81Ralph Johnson MArch ’73 (Waterfront Botanical Gardens)

Reed Hilderbrand LLC Landscape Architecture, led by by Principals Gary Hilderbrand MLA ’85 and Douglas Reed MLA ’81 (Conservation at the Edge – Prototyping low-intervention conservation in the Patagonian wilderness)

Gordon Gill MArch ’93 (Positioning Pullman)

Katharyn Leah Hurd MLAUD ’12 (Texas Capitol Complex Master Plan)


Charles Birnbaum LF ’98 (The Landscape Architecture of Lawrence Halprin)

More information, including the full list of 2017 winners.

Photo: Windhover Contemplative Center at Stanford University, Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture.

posted November, 2017

stanford asla

L. Rudolph Barton MAUD ’81 Promoted to Professor Emeritus Portland State University

L. Rudolph Barton MAUD ’81

L. Rudolph Barton MAUD ’81 has been promoted to Professor Emeritus of Architecture at Portland State University, where he was a primary founder of the School of Architecture and helped guide it to initial accreditation. He also was named a United Kingdom Fulbright Scholar for 2015 at the Mackintosh School of Architecture, Glasgow School of Art (GSA). His current research and teaching at the GSA’s Urban Laboratory continues to provoke discourse on the physical and social construction of public space.

posted December, 2016

L Rudolph Barton