Class of 1980

Eleven Alumni Elevated to AIA College of Fellows 2018

Jonathan Barnes MArch '86, Eric Bunge MArch ’96, Chris Cooper MArch ’98, William B. Gallagher Jr. MAUD '86, Leonard Kady MArch '89, Rick Peterson MArch '88, Naomi Pollock MArch '85, Christopher Shears MArch ’80, James Susman MDes '88, Louis Wasserman MArch '74, Ellen Watts MArch '79

Eleven GSD alumni have been elevated by the 2018 Jury of Fellows from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) to its prestigious College of Fellows. The honor recognizes architects who have “achieved a standard of excellence in the profession and made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level.” A ceremony honoring the new fellows will take place on June 22 at the AIA Conference on Architecture 2018 in New York City.

Congratulations to:

Jonathan Barnes MArch ’86

Eric Bunge MArch ’96

Chris Cooper MArch ’98

William B. Gallagher Jr. MAUD ’86

Leonard Kady MArch ’89

Rick Petersen MArch ’88

Naomi Pollock MArch ’85

Christopher Shears MArch ’80

James Susman MDes ’88

Louis Wasserman MArch ’74

Ellen Watts MArch ’79 

Read the AIA press release.

Image courtesy of the AIA College of Fellows.

posted April, 2018

AIA college of fellows

Mark Schatz MArch ’80 Joins ELS Architecture and Urban Design as Principal

Mark Schatz MArch ‘80

Mark Schatz MArch ’80, FAIA, has joined ELS Architecture and Urban Design as principal. He will serve as director of programming and planning for community, library, and senior center design. Schatz brings more than 32 years practicing architecture in San Francisco, most recently as a principal with Field Paoli. He has focused his career on community design projects, including more than 50 libraries, community centers, recreation centers, and other neighborhood facilities, most of them in the Bay Area. He also teaches at U.C. Berkeley, where he heads the summer architectural internship program, and at California Polytechnic State University.

Image courtesy of ELS Architecture and Urban Design

posted July, 2017


Maria A. Villalobos H. MDes ’04, David Gouverneur Malakoff MAUD ’80, and Team Win National Architecture Award in Venezuela

Maria A. Villalobos H. MDes '04, David Gouverneur Malakoff MAUD '80

A project by Maria A. Villalobos H. MDes ’04 and Carla Urbina of Botanical City, along with key advisors David Gouverneur Malakoff MAUD ’80, Lourdes Peñaranda, and Francois Galletti, has won a National Architecture Award in Venezuela. Entitled “Botanical Urban Landscapes: Lessons from Roberto Burle Marx’s Botanical Garden in Maracaibo, Venezuela,” the project won in the Heritage Restoration Category, as well as the main National Award.

The XII National Biennial of Architecture marks a new milestone in the history of the Venezuelan Biennials, which begun in 1963 and has recognized the work of great architects and teams including: Carlos Raúl Villanueva, Tomás José Sanabria, Jesús Tenreiro, Universities, Tomás Lugo. This year for the first time, the National Prize is awarded to a Landscape Architecture Project and Restoration Work. It is also the first time that women are recognized.

Images courtsey of Maria A. Villalobos H. MDes ’04 and Carla Urbina.
Botanical City

posted March, 2017

Maria A. Villalobos H. MDes '04

Ritchie Smith MLA ’80 and Lissa Thompson MLA ’86 Honored by Tennessee ASLA

Ritchie Smith MLA '80 and Lissa Thompson MLA ’86

The Tennessee ASLA Chapter presented Ritchie Smith MLA ’80 and Lissa Thompson MLA ’86 an Honor Award for their design of the Pedestrian Plaza at the Memphis International Airport. Their firm, Ritchie Smith Associates, was recognized at the chapter’s annual meeting in Chattanooga. Read more about the project here.

February 2015

posted December, 2016

Memphis Airport Pedestrian Plaza

Patricia Sapinsley MArch ’80, RAE ’15 Named One of the Year’s Women in Architecture

Patricia Sapinsley MArch '80

Patricia Sapinsley MArch ’80, RAE ’15 named by Architectural Record as one of the year’s winners of the Women in Architecture Award. In the second year of the awards, AR celebrates five architects annually for their contributions to the field. The awards also strive to highlight the increasingly visible role women play in the profession. Ms. Sapinsley was singled out for “using her skills for effecting change in the public realm, and as Managing director of Cleantech Initiatives at New York University’s Urban Future Lab, Sapinsley brings together green technology and entrepreneurship to create a stronger marketplace for sustainable solutions.”

September 2015

posted December, 2016

Patricia Sapinsley

Richard T. Murphy, Jr. MLA ’80 Honored for Leadership

Richard T. Murphy, Jr. MLA '80

Richard T. Murphy, Jr. MLA ’80 has been honored with two awards in 2016: Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal included Murphy on its inaugural list of Most Admired CEOs, and AARP and Pollen Midwest named him a “50 over 50” award winner. Both awards recognize Murphy for his industry leadership and his commitment to environmental sustainability. As president and CEO of Murphy Warehouse Company, Murphy puts design front and center in the management of this fourth-generation family business. From solar-powered and LED-lit facilities to stormwater-managed campuses surrounded by native prairies, Murphy’s robust list of sustainability initiatives includes energy savings and power generation, carbon sequestration, pollution abatement, recycling and resource management. A fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects, Murphy views sustainable landscape design as a smart business strategy, and he is dedicated to elevating the profession throughout the broader business community.

December 2016

posted December, 2016