Class of 1973

Alumni Work Recognized with 2017 ASLA Professional Awards

Andrea Cochran MLA '79, Megumi Aihara MLA '07, Mikyoung Kim MLA '92, Andrea Cochran MLA '79, Lin Peng MLA '12, Stephen Stimson MLA '87, Gary Hilderbrand MLA ’85, Douglas Reed MLA ’81, Bruce Jett MLA '92, Charlotte Barrows MLA '06, Leo Alvarez MLA '81, Ralph Johnson MArch '73, Gordon Gill MArch '93, Katharyn Leah Hurd MLAUD '12, Charles Birnbaum LF '98

The work of Harvard University Graduate School of Design alumni is well represented in this year’s American Society of Landscape Architects Professional Awards, which recognize the best of landscape architecture from the United States and around the world. Winners received their awards at the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Los Angeles last October. Those honored include:


Honor Awards

Andrea Cochran MLA ’79Megumi Aihara MLA ’07 (Windhover Contemplative Center)

Mikyoung Kim MLA ’92 (Chicago Botanic Garden: The Regenstein Learning Campus)


Award of Excellence

Andrea Cochran MLA ’79, Lin Peng MLA ’12 (Birmingham Residence)

Honor Award

Andrea Cochran MLA ’79 (Telegraph Hill Residence)

Stephen Stimson MLA ’87 (Northeast Harbor, a Restoration on Mount Desert Island)

Reed Hilderbrand LLC Landscape Architecture, led by by Principals Gary Hilderbrand MLA ’85 and Douglas Reed MLA ’81 (Proving Grounds – A 20-Year Education in American HorticultureAgrarian Modern – The Recovery and Renewal of Manatuck Farm)

Bruce Jett MLA ’92 (Northpoint Apartments)


Honor Award

Charlotte Barrows MLA ’06 (The Olana Strategic Landscape Design Plan: Restoring an American Masterpiece)

Leo Alvarez MLA ’81Ralph Johnson MArch ’73 (Waterfront Botanical Gardens)

Reed Hilderbrand LLC Landscape Architecture, led by by Principals Gary Hilderbrand MLA ’85 and Douglas Reed MLA ’81 (Conservation at the Edge – Prototyping low-intervention conservation in the Patagonian wilderness)

Gordon Gill MArch ’93 (Positioning Pullman)

Katharyn Leah Hurd MLAUD ’12 (Texas Capitol Complex Master Plan)


Charles Birnbaum LF ’98 (The Landscape Architecture of Lawrence Halprin)

More information, including the full list of 2017 winners.

Photo: Windhover Contemplative Center at Stanford University, Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture.

posted November, 2017

stanford asla

Society of Architectural Historians to Honor Ralph Johnson MArch ’73, Sharon Johnston MArch ’95, Mark Lee MArch ’95

Ralph Johnson MArch ’73, Sharon Johnston MArch ’95, Mark Lee MArch ’95

The Society of Architectural Historians will present the SAH Awards for Architectural Excellence at its 8th Annual Awards Gala on November 17, 2017, at The Racquet Club of Chicago. Those being honored by SAH include architect Ralph Johnson MArch ’73, Global Design Director at Perkins+Will, and architects Sharon Johnston MArch ’95 and Mark Lee MArch ’95, founders and principals of the architecture firm Johnston Marklee.

Ralph Johnson MArch ’73 will receive the Award for Excellence in Design, Planning, and Sustainability. His projects have been honored with more than 150 design awards, including eight national Honor Awards, more than 50 regional Honor Awards from the American Institute of Architects and a Progressive Architecture Design Award. He was honored in 2015 as a newly elected member of the National Academy—one of the highest honors in American art and architecture.

Sharon Johnston MArch ’95 and Mark Lee MArch ’95 will receive the Award for Excellence in Public Engagement with the Built Environment. Their firm, Johnston Marklee, has been recognized nationally and internationally with over 30 major awards and numerous publications.

Read the full press release.


posted November, 2017

chicago 2

Steve Calhoun MLA ’71 and Rodney Wulff MLA ’73 Featured in Landscape Australia

Steve Calhoun MLA '71, Rodney Wulff MLA '73

Steve Calhoun MLA ’71 and Rodney Wulff MLA ’73, founding directors of landscape architecture at Tract (Melbourne), are the focus of an article in Landscape Australia. Dubbed the “odd couple of landscape architecture,” Calhoun and Wulff discuss meeting as MLA students at the GSD, their decades-long partnership at Tract, and the future of the industry. Additionally, Calhoun offers an anecdote on the passion of landscape architects gleaned from an event at the GSD in celebration of the 100th anniversary of Landscape Architecture at Harvard. Read the feature here.

posted March, 2017

Stephen Calhoun MLA '71 and Rodney Wulff MLA '73

Ralph Johnson, FAIA, MArch ’73 Elected to the National Academy

Ralph Johnson, FAIA, MArch '73

Ralph Johnson, FAIA, MArch ’73, Global Design Director for Perkins + Will, has been elected to the National Academy, an honorary association of artists and architects. “The election of these artists and architects is in recognition of their immense influence and impact on the American cultural conversation, as well as of the profound contributions each will continue to make in the years to come,” said Bruce Fowle, president of the National Academy, in announcing this year’s class of inductees. Read the full announcement here.

November 2015

posted December, 2016